City Council Appoints New Mayor of Ashland

The Ashland City Council appointed Councilor Tonya Graham as Mayor, at the February 7, 2023, City Council Business Meeting. Former Mayor, Julie Akins, resigned from her position effective January 27, 2023. The Council had 60 days to appoint from Council or solicit applications from the citizens of Ashland.

Graham was re-elected as City Councilor, Position No. 2, in November 2022 for a four-year term. She will serve as the appointed Mayor until December 31, 2024. The next election for Mayor will be in November 2024, with the elected Mayor serving a four-year term. Graham’s appointment to Mayor leaves Position No. 2 vacant.

On January 24, 2023, then Councilor Shaun Moran resigned from Position No. 3. An application process to fill both Position 2 and Position 3 vacant Council seats is underway. The deadline to apply for these Councilor positions is February 14, 2023. Applicants may wish to be considered for Position 2, Position 3 or both. Appointed Councilors will serve until December 31, 2024.

The next public election for Councilor Positions 2 and 3 will be in November 2024. The individual elected Councilor for Position No. 2 will serve a two-year term, while the elected Councilor for Position No. 3 will serve a four-year term.

To learning more about the new Mayor of Ashland, the city has provided this link.

Source: City of Ashland

%d bloggers like this: